To be released on 2CD Standard edition, 2CD + DVD Deluxe edition and Download by Knitting Factory Records/ Kalakuta Sunrise, “The Best Of The Black President 2” spearheads a programme to re-release the complete works of Fela, consisting of almost 50 albums, all re-packaged with in-depth track commentaries written by Afrobeat historian Chris May.

 The twelve tracks featured include 1975’s “Everything Scatter”, probably one of the ultimate Afrobeat tracks, as well as an extended version of the classic “Sorrow Tears and Blood”, inspired by the South African apartheid regime’s crushing of the Soweto uprising in 1976. Also included are tracks “Expensive Shit”“Yellow Fever”“Underground System (Part 2)” and the special deluxe edition includes a DVD of Fela’s legendary 1984 Glastonbury concert.

 ‘The Best Of The Black President 2’ – Track-listing 
CD 1: 
1. Everything Scatter 10:31
2. Expensive Shit 13:11
3. Underground System (Part 2) 15:19
4. Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am 12:03
5. Monkey Banana 11:31
6. Sorrow Tears and Blood (Original Extended Version) 16:41

CD 2:

1. Black Man’s Cry 11:35
2. Mr Follow Follow 12:55
3. He Miss Road 10:45
4. Yellow Fever 15:10
5. Na Poi 13:30
6. Colonial Mentality 13:41
DVD (Deluxe edition only): 
Fela Kuti performing at the Glastonbury Festival 1984 (60 mins)

In recognition of Fela’s burgeoning global stature, Oscar-winning filmmaker, Alex Gibney, is currently making the definitive Fela documentary, due for cinematic release in 2013. Also, a feature film of Fela’s life and times is in the works with Focus Features, directed by Turner Prize and BAFTA winner, Steve McQueen.

For more information and updates, make sure to check out the usual links:

This compilation is part of the complete Fela Kuti catalogue which will be reissued in the UK by Knitting Factory Records/ Kalakuta Sunrise throughout 2013, all with complete notes on each song. The first batch (to be released on 4 March 2013) includes: 

– Koola Lobitos/ ’69 LA Sessions (CD/DA)
– Fela with Ginger Baker Live! (CD/DA)
– Shakara/ London Scene (CD/DA)
– Roforofo/ Fela Singles (CD/DA)
– Open and Close/ Afrodisiac (CD/DA)
– Gentleman/ Confusion (CD/DA)
– Alagbon Close/ Why Black Man Dey Suffer (CD/DA)
– Expensive Shit/ He Miss Road (CD/DA)
– Everything Scatter/ Noise for Vendor Mouth (CD/DA)
– Monkey Banana/ Excuse O (CD/DA)
– The Best Of The Black President 2 (2CDs) (CD/DA)
– The Best Of The Black President 2 (2CDs + DVD) (CD)
– The Complete Works (26 CDs + 1 DVD) (CD)