You are currently browsing the category archive for the ‘Soundcloud’ category.

This compilation, by Analog Africa and in partnership with Teranga Beat, offers a unique insight into the musical adventures that were taking place in the major Senegalese cities during the 60s and 70s, and reflects the unique fusions of Funk, Mbalax, Cuban Son and Mandigue guitar sounds that transformed Dakar into West Africa’s most vibrant city.

Adamantios Kafetzis from Teranga Beat dug through an astonishing three hundred Senegalese songs – all never before released – to select five for inclusion in this collection, wit the remaining seven taken from obscure vinyl records found in Senegal, by Analog Africa’s label boss Samy Ben Redjeb on his many crate-digging trips.

The result is a compilation filled with multi-layered Afro-Cuban funk melodies, warm keys, vibrant vocals and body moving rhythms from artists including Star Band de Dakar, Orchestre Bawobab, Fangóól (featured below) and many more

This release includes a comprehensive booklet that comes with the CD (44 pages) and with the double LP (12 pages LP size) and is a precious document attesting to the decades of transformation that led to modern Senegalese music. Featuring biographies of music producers and a legendary record cover designer, as well as the life stories of all the groups represented here, the booklet also includes a fantastic selection of photos that have never seen before.


1. Fangóól – “Mariama” 4:35
2. Orchestre G.M.I. – Groupement Mobil D’Intervention – “Africa” 6:51 *
3. Orchestre Bawobab – “Thiely” 4:59 *
4. Le Sourouba de Louga – “Bour Siné” 3:47 *
5. King N’gom et Les Perles Noires – “Viva Marvillas” 5:34
6. Orchestre Laye Thiam – “Massani Cissé” 5:48
7. Amara Touré et le Star Band de Dakar – “El Carretero” 5:22 *
8. Le Tropical Jazz – “Kiko Medina” 4:40
9. Orchestre Laye Thiam – “Kokorico” 6:47
10. Gëstu de Dakar – “Ndiourel” 5:17
11. Orchestre Bawobab – “Ma Penda” 5:18 *
12. Orchestre Laye Thiam – “Sanga Té” 5:43

* = previously unreleased tracks, courtesy of Teranga Beat

Released 27 November through Analog Africa on CD with 44-pages booklet 2xLP Gatefold with 12-pages LP size booklet and Digital




Kerri Chandler’s Madtech label are due to release the second in their series of Ibiza comps, featuring 23 of the hottest tnes bubbling under right now with gems from Alexis Raphael, Leftwing & Kody, Black Girl/White Girl, Howson’s Groove, Simba, Human Life, Luvstuff, Rich Wakley and many more. Pre-Order it now on iTunes!


The album will also be available on a limited vinyl sampler, including a free download code for the entire digital compilation

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,090 other followers